Scientific Advisory Board

Membership on the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is open to Directors and distinguished scientists external to the Board who are familiar with the areas of research in which the institute engages. The SAB conducts an annual overview of the institute’s research programs.

Mary Lou Guerinot, Ph.D

Scientific Advisory Board, Chair
Ronald and Deborah Harris Professor in the Sciences
Department of Biological Sciences
Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH

David Baulcombe, Ph.D.

Head of Department
Department of Plant Sciences, University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Paul Chomet, Ph.D.

Strategic Consultant
St. Louis, MO

Machi Dilworth, Ph.D.

Vice President of Gender Equality Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Okinawa, Japan / Retired, Director of Office of International Science and Engineering
National Science Foundation
Kamuela, HI

Arthur Grossman, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist Carnegie Institution for Science / Department of Plant Biology Adjunct Professor
Stanford University, Department of Biology
Stanford, CA

Jacqueline Heard, MBA, Ph.D.

Venture Partner
Anterra Capital
Boston, MA

Eric Lyons

Assistant Professor – The School of Plant Sciences, iPlant Collaborative
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Christine Smart

Professor, Plant Pathology and Plant-Microbe Biology Section
School of Integrative Plant Biology
Cornell University